top of page

Vision W3, D4

Vision: Keeping my eyes closed today during breakfast taught me about the importance of habits and consistency in the life of someone with severe vision impairments. First of all I was paranoid about putting my phone down because I didn't know if I would be able to find it again. It seems like searching for lost items without sight would be terribly frustrating. I was able to make it down the stairs and found my yoghurt in the fridge and a spoon in the drawer organizer because I always keep them in the same place. I tried to smell what flavor I picked up but I couldn't tell until I has halfway through eating it. When I sat down at the counter I noticed that the overhead light was turned on based on the perception of a light source in the opposite direction of the window, so I turned it off. This is where my experience differs from a person with complete loss of vision. Partway through I wanted a drink so I felt around to find a cup in the cupboard and decided to drink tap water since I didn't feel confident in my blind pouring skills. I had to dip my hands into the water to discern how full the cup was. I didn't really have any issues eating, but yoghurt isn't too complicated.


bottom of page